Christian Growth / End Times / Mature / New Christian / Prodigal

The Reluctant Witness

I had an opportunity to witness and I ignored it. Epic fail.

hiking-boots-1 wlak step preach disciple witness2Lord, my spirit is willing but my flesh is weak.

As I read from Matthew 26:41-46 I felt that I could relate, on a very limited basis, to the Lord’s words, “The spirit is indeed willing, but the flesh is weak.” Knowing that the hour is at hand and the limited time all of us have to harvest souls for our blessed Savior, I still struggle with the fear of the unknown and of rejection.

This fear of offending someone or of rejection, maybe even violence from the person being witnessed to, is a people-pleasing spirit that is absolutely ungodly. Rationally I know this to be true, so why the reluctance to come against it with the replete sacrificial Blood of the risen Lamb, Jesus Christ of Nazareth?

2 Corinthians 4:3 But if our gospel be hid, it is hid to them that are lost: 4 In whom the god of this world hath blinded the minds of them which believe not, lest the light of the glorious gospel of Christ, who is the image of God, should shine unto them. 5 For we preach not ourselves, but Christ Jesus the Lord; and ourselves your servants for Jesus’ sake.

Paul preached to the Ephesians that mankind’s true battle is against Satan and his demons.

Ephesians 6:11 Put on the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil. 12 For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places. 13 Wherefore take unto you the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand.

Peter stated that a Christian’s enemy is the devil.

1 Peter 5:8 Be self-controlled and alert. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour. 9 Resist him, standing firm in the faith, because you know that your brothers throughout the world are undergoing the same kind of sufferings. (emphasis added)

1 John 5:19 … the whole world is under the control (influence, sway) of the evil one.

I was chatting with a sister in Christ only to discover that she is undergoing similar fears and reluctance. We realized that with the increase in demonic activity during these final hours, that we Christians must “man-up” on a whole new level. We must strengthen our spirit man with prayer and dwelling in His word. It is through these avenues that He will instruct, guide, and strengthen us.

It is vitally important that we be familiar with His word and His Voice, how else can we discern right from wrong in those “shady” areas, during those testing times, as we individually and collectively face our deepest fears?! For we definitely will be facing some very fearsome things and circumstances in the very near future.

The devil’s minions have been peering over our shoulders, listening to conversations and they know what we fear and what makes us crumble. They have been doing what all successful forces have done: in preparation for the ultimate battle, they get to know their opponent and know their weak areas.

My spirit is restless, like I have had too much caffeine. I’m at an unsatisfied state, I know that I am missing something, similar to the feeling you’re forgetting something as you head out the door. I am praying in the spirit with increasing frequency as I pace about my home. I am very aware of demonic forces, which also has increased in numbers around me; very much unwelcome., I know who I am in Christ. I am binding and loosing. These spirits do not frighten me, I know who I am in Christ Jesus. I know demons of greater status and strength, strongmen like I have not yet encountered,  are on the horizon and I must continue to build my spiritual weapons.  I choose not to fear, I choose to remind myself that greater is He that is in me, than he that is of the world.

Knowing and doing are two very different things.

I am your average American. Spoiled, opinionated, free, and privileged. I am poor but not destitute. God has faithfully provided for me, and has protected me, I have not lacked. I often question myself, how I will stand up to intense torture and persecution because I am the Average American; hardship is the distant concept, it only happens in far away nations.

Lord God, clear and correct our misguided perceptions. Let us Christians band together and strengthen one another with biblical words of encouragement and biblical sincerity. Let us pray for one another that we be strong and faithful soldiers for Christ. That we be a supporting community, the vast miles between us meaningless. May we not take the internet and electronic communication for granted and make absolute godly use of the gifts and privileges we currently have. May we be in alignment with God’s will for each of us individually as well as collectively and not overly focused on the politics and insanity of the world’s unfolding events. We must be evangelistic to the absolute core. This is why we are here, for this time. “For such a time as this”.

That we learn from your holy scriptures:

Exodus 3:11  But Moses said to God, “Who am I that I should go to Pharaoh, and that I should bring the children of Israel out of Egypt?”

One thought on “The Reluctant Witness

Leave a Reply

