Power Study 2 Flame / Scriptures & Bible Study

Bible Study, Fan the Flame Week One of Three

eternalflame32

FAN THE FLAME 

Week One of Three

 

WEEK ONE:  INTRODUCTION

AS I SOUGHT THE LORD, HE GENTLY SPOKE THREE SIMPLE, LIFE-ALTERING WORDS:

“FAN THE FLAME”

I WAS STRUCK WITH CONVICTION AND REMORSE, I REALIZED HOW APPALLINGLY FAR I HAD DRIFTED THROUGHOUT THE YEARS, JUST HOW TERRIBLY DISTANT I WAS FROM MY FIRST LOVE. THROUGH MY TEARS, I ASKED FOR FORGIVENESS. THEN I ASKED HIM, WHAT DID I DO THEN THAT I’M NOT DOING NOW? HOW DO I FAN THE FLAME, LORD? WHAT WERE MY FIRST WORKS?

HE SAID, “THINK.”  SO I DID, CAREFULLY. NOT ONE ANSWER WAS HASTY. I REALLY HAD TO THINK. (SHAMEFUL L)

1)      I WAS IN YOUR WORD. I DEVOURED YOUR WORD; I SIMPLY COULD NOT GET ENOUGH OF IT!

AGAIN IN MY SPIRIT, I HEARD HIM IN THE KINDEST, GENTLEST, FATHERLY & BROTHERLY MANNER:

“WHAT ELSE?”

2)      I PRAYED MORE.

HE WAS SILENT. THEN: “WHAT ELSE?”

3)      I COMMUNED WITH YOU; I WAS IN FELLOWSHIP WITH YOU. (I MISS THAT, LORD)

“WHAT ELSE?”

4)      I HUNG OUT WITH CHRISTIANS.

“WHAT ELSE?”

5)      I WITNESSED. A LOT. BRAVELY, UNASHAMEDLY. I DIDN’T CARE IF I MADE A FOOL OF MYSELF OR WAS REBUKED. I WANTED A SAVING, COVENANT RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN YOU & THEM, IT DIDN’T MATTER THAT THEY WERE STRANGERS. I HAD (PAST TENSE) AN ABSOLUTE, BURNING PASSION FOR SOULS.

HE WAS SILENT, PAUSING AGAIN. I SENSED HE WANTED ME TO DIGEST MY RESPONSES. THEN, KINDLY, SWEETLY, LOVINGLY:

“WHAT ELSE?”

6)      I FASTED MORE.

I SENSED AN EXPECTANT, ANTICIPATORY  PAUSE. I KNEW I WAS MISSING SOMETHING! THEN:

“WHAT ELSE?”

7)      I WORSHIPED YOU MORE FREQUENTLY AND FOR LONGER PERIODS OF TIME. WHILE DRIVING, WHILE BATHING, ON WORK BREAKS, WHILE DOING CHORES, EVERY CHANCE I COULD. (I MISS THAT, LORD)

“WHAT ELSE?” HE ASKED, STILL KIND, EVER-SO GENTLE.

8)      I SOUGHT YOU. MY LIFE, MY EXISTENCE DEPENDED UPON YOU. I SOUGHT VITAL UNION WITH YOU!

HE PAUSED AGAIN, LONGER, PATIENT.  THEN:

“WHAT ELSE?”

9)      I SUBMITTED EVERYTHING TO YOU. I SERVED YOU, WHOLE HEART, MIND, BODY; MY SOUL WAS SUBMITTED. WE WERE “IN-TUNE”.  (I MISS THAT, LORD)

NON-JUDGMENTAL SILENCE. THEN,

“DO YOU LOVE ME?”

10)   OH, LORD, YES!

THEN FAN THE FLAME.”

©V         ©V         ©V         ©V         ©V         ©V         ©V         ©V

WHAT ARE OTHER WAYS THAT YOU CAN FAN THE FLAME & RESTORE YOUR FIRST LOVE?

_________________________________  (Get practical, now!)

WHAT DID YOU EXPERIENCE DURING YOUR FIRST LOVE? HOW DID IT AFFECT YOU, LOVED ONES, FRIENDS?

_______________________________

Pray and meditate on week one.  Do solid soul-searching; don’t fly on by on this “easy” lesson. Here are some scriptures to help:

1)      SEEK HIM    ISAIAH 55:6   EXODUS 33:14

2)      SURRENDER, SUBMIT  ROMANS 12:1,2    1PETER 5:5-11    EPHESIANS 2:10

Leave a Reply

